Chapter 3 The EEA Agreement
Restricted access

In 1993, the European Union and the member countries of the European Free Trade Association ('EFTA') concluded an agreement creating a European Economic Area (EEA), also referred to as the 'Internal Market'.20 This is an umbrella entity originally intended to house the then-12 member EU and its sister States in the EFTA: at the time, these included Switzerland, Sweden, Austria, Finland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. Switzerland refused to ratify the Agreement21 and Sweden, Austria and Finland have since joined the EU. Today, 27 EU Member States and the EFTA states Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein (hereinafter referred to as the 'EEA EFTA States') together form the Internal Market and are subject to the EEA Agreement.

You are not authenticated to view the full text of this chapter or article.

Access options

Get access to the full article by using one of the access options below.

Other access options

Redeem Token

Institutional Login

Log in with Open Athens, Shibboleth, or your institutional credentials

Login via Institutional Access

Personal login

Log in with your Elgar Online account

Login with you Elgar account
Monograph Book